Research Opportunity

by annex50

I am interviewing for a research opportunity in St Petersburg on Monday mornig.  The researcher is Dr. Storch and he primarily does studies involving obsessive compulsive disorder.  This will be my first real research interview.  My previous one was just with some assistant and she asked me questions directly from a questionairre.  I am a bit nervous since I don’t know what to expect.  I’ve read his bio and his current research but he so many publications that I could not possibly grasp that right now.  Hopefully, I am not expected to have done that.  I also am trying to prepare for what seems like an easy question and that involves why I am interested in psychology and what possible research I would be interested in.  You can’t really be vague on these questions.  In the clinical field, I would be interested in doing research on Body Dysmorphic Disorder (BDD), especially with the advances in plastic surgery, there is likely to be an increasing number of people who suffer from this.  Michael Jackson purportedly suffered from this.

I also thought of an idea after watching “The Wrestler,” sadly.  In the extra features section, some older wrestlers discussed various aspects of the industry in round-table fashion (For David’s interest, the wrestlers were Brutus “The Barber” Beefcake, Diamond Dallas Page, Greg “The Hammer” Valentine, Lex Luger, and Rowdy Roddy Piper).  Part of the discussion turned to how they were dealing with life post-career.  After being used to performing in front of huge crowds and getting that pulsating adrenaline rush (which one said was better than sex), how are they able to deal with life without that and do they substitute something else in their personal lives to come close to having that feeling again?  Some get involved in gambling, strip clubs, pursuing multiple women like Steve McNair, just don’t know what the hell to do like Brett Favre.  I think it would be interesting to observe their behavior and to see if there are ways to help them cope with such things.  However, I could never do that as a master’s student.  I am sure I can just call Joe Montana and ask him how his life is.  I wish.

Lastly, I would want to conduct research that analyzed people’s expectations in their lives both currently and in the future and how they feel they measure up to those standards today.  In this country, we are to believe that we can be a rock star,  lawyer, or doctor.  However, at what point, as a child or adolescent, does this expectation change?  The evolution of expectations across time would be interesting to study.  Analyzing self-evaluations of how much people believe they have met, exceeded or failed in their aspirations and if they feel they are currently on track to fulfill their future expectations would be interesting.  What is a better word for interesting?  Should I say, tantalizing or thought-provoking?

Well, I hope all goes well tomorrow and that my bad interview streak comes to an end!

