Email from NCSU, should I say anything?

by annex50

Dear Kevin,

I am writing to update you on the status of your application for graduate study in I-O psychology at NCSU. We don’t have a definitive answer for you yet, but I am pleased to report that your application has passed the first “cut” in our selection process and you are now considered to be among the finalists. What this means is that you are considered by the program faculty to be qualified for admission but whether we can offer you a position will depend on the space available in our program after we receive responses from some other offers that are currently pending. We expect to know for certain whether we can make you an offer within the next three to five weeks.

I am sorry that we can’t be more definite at this point, but I hope you will take some encouragement from the fact that you were selected as a finalist from a very competitive pool of applicants. If I can answer any questions for you, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Best wishes,

